The founders of DiRōNA had one simple idea in mind:  To preserve and promote the ultimate in distinguished dining.

In 1989, DiRoNA established an endowment fund with the NRAEF to encourage students to pursue careers in the restaurant and foodservice industry. Annually, DiRoNA honors its key industry partners, media patrons, and past chairmen through the scholarship program. This scholarship program was created to inspire students to pursue their passion for the culinary arts. This scholarship is for any student pursuing an education in a restaurant, food service, or hospitality related major with an interest in fine dining.
Recipients are selected through a rigorous review of applications from throughout North America. 

A minimum of 5 DiRoNA scholarships are provided each year through the National Restaurant Association Educational Foundation. 

National Restaurant Association Educational Foundation
2055 L St. NW
Washington, DC  20036
T: 800-424-5156

“The gift of an education is rewarding; the end result is immeasurable.  The knowledge of food and wine and hospitality is a gift to share, and we are proud to help promote the education of the best in our field.” 

Ted Balestreri

Past DiRōNA Chairman

2022 DiRoNA Scholarship Recipients

Luis Arriola, Baking & Pastry

Culinary Institute of America

Nicolas Frazier, Culinary Science & Baking & Pastry

Culinary Institute of America

Seanna Kryger, Food Studies

George Brown College

Brenna LeDuc,Baking & Pastry and Service Management

Paul Smiths College of Arts and Science

Devika Manchanda, Food Business Management

Culinary Institute of America

Andrew Plummer, Culinary Arts/Patisserie concentration

Nicholls State University

Kamilla Salazar, Baking & Pastry Arts

Johnson & Wales University

Dulanjali Withana, Tourism & Hospitality

Mount Saint Vincent University

Feiyan Zhou, Tourism & Hospitality

Mount Saint Vincent University

2021 DiRoNA Scholarship Recipients

Alex Burslem Honeoye Falls, New York

Culinary Institute of America/Hyde Park Culinary Arts

Andres Piedra Ottawa, Ontario

Le Cordon Bleu – Culinary Arts

Omar Salazar Oxnard, California

Culinary Institute of America/Hyde Park Culinary Arts

Jasmine Thoo Vancouver, British Columbia

Northwest Culinary Academy of Vancouver Culinary Arts

Courtney Wyatt Charlotte, North Carolina

East Carolina University Hospitality

2020 DiRoNA Scholarship Recipients

Stephen Baird

Culinary Arts, Niagara College

Parker Heil

Culinary Arts, Niagara College

Aden Lewin

Baking and Pastry Arts, Culinary Institute of America

Lenski Parker

Applied Food Studies, Culinary Institute of America

2019 DiRoNA Scholarship Recipients

Eunseo Kim – Hospitality, Niagara College

Daniel Matos – Food and Beverage Management, Culinary Institute of America

Greta Miller – Hospitality, York College Pennsylvania

Victor Valentin – Culinary Arts, Johnson & Wales University – Providence

2018 DiRoNA Scholarship Recipients

DiRoNA 2018 Scholarship Winner
Melvin Nguyen, Boston, MA  
Majoring in Hospitality
Studying at
New York University

DiRoNA 2018 Scholarship Winner
Jordan Weber, Aldie, VA
Majoring in Culinary Arts
Studying at
Culinary Institute of America

DiRoNA 2018 Scholarship Winner
Daniel Matos, Tampa, FL  
Majoring in Culinary Arts
Studying at
Culinary Institute of America

DiRoNA 2018 Scholarship Winner
Robert McCall, New York, NY
Majoring in Culinary Arts
Studying at:
Auguste Escoffier School of Culinary Arts

DiRoNA 2018 Scholarship Winner
Jose Luna, Salinas, CA  
Majoring in Baking & Pastry Arts
Studying at
Monterey Peninsula College

DiRoNA 2018 Scholarship Winner
Alana Mendez, Rincon, Puerto Rico  
Majoring in
Food Tourism & Hospitality Management
Studying at
Johnson & Wales University

2017 DiRoNA Scholarship Recipients

Nathan Cook – Sullivan University

Gueye Coty – Gateway Community College

Sarah Sbai – Kendall College

Thomas Vitatoe – Pittsburg Technical Institute

Diana Camacho – Johnson & Wales University – Charlotte

Helen Tabitha Lindsay – Niagara College

Alexis Currell-Therrien – Niagara College

Solange Arias – Humber College

2016 DiRoNA Scholarship Recipients

Tiara Alston – Sullivan University

Annslea Schaber – Sullivan University

John Sadler – Sullivan University

Kristin Criswell – Culinary Institute of America

Anna Marano – Stratford Chefs School

Solange Arias – Humber College